When you are in an accident, adrenaline can be high. It is difficult to make good decisions when you are under this kind of stress. If you made a mistake and left the scene of the accident, you can be accused of a crime. Or in many cases, you may not have even realized you had been involved in an accident. Our attorneys have successfully defended all types of misdemeanor and felony charges like hit and run in the North Carolina Criminal Courts.
We know the best opportunities to avoid serious criminal consequences and prevent a permanent criminal record. In North Carolina, when you are involved in an accident there are certain actions you must take. If you fail to follow through with those actions, you may be charged with hit and run if you leave the scene of an accident without proper notification or other actions, depending on the seriousness of the accident.
Having handled hit and run cases before, we have probably handled on very similar to yours. However, all cases are different and we are interested in the particulars of your case. We want to understand how the accident happened and hear your side of the story. Only then will we be able to advise you on your best course of action in your legal situation. And we offer our advice in a free legal consultation.
There’s no obligation, so feel free to contact us. North Carolina Hit and Run – Duty to Stop Laws North Carolina law requires that you stop after being involved in any accident. When you stop you are required to provide the other driver or pedestrian with “reasonable” assistance if they are injured and give information such as your name, phone number, and insurance company to any other driver of another car involved in the accident.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony Hit and Run Penalties If you fail to fulfill your duty to stop, you may be charged with hit and run. The category of this offense and the potential sentence depend on the severity of the accident. If the accident only results in property damage and/or minimal injury, you are facing Class 1 misdemeanor charges. Misdemeanor hit and run for leaving the scene of an accident with property damage or minor injury carries a potential sentence of up to one year in jail as well as fines.
If the accident results in death or a serious injury, Class H felony charges may be filed. Felony hit and run carries a potential sentence of up to 8 months for a first time offender. This means if you have no criminal history, 8 months is the most time you will be sentenced to. If, however, you have prior convictions on your record, this sentence can be increased substantially. Depending on your record, you may be eligible for probation rather than prison time.
Can I fight hit and run charges and win? Yes, there are a variety of legal tactics to win the case or simply avoid a serious criminal conviction and record that can haunt yours for years. Sometimes, simply working with the victim’s insurance company and making sure any problems are taken care of can be enough to avoid a criminal charge from being pursued against you. We can also dispute the facts and argue that you weren’t involved, or weren’t to blame for whatever happened.
We can have private investigators interview witnesses and get the facts out that support your version of the events, and your innocence. We can also work to get felony charges reduced to a misdemeanor hit and run if the injury wasn’t really serious. The police and prosecutors do sometimes charge a much more serious offense than the facts warrant. We will fight to fix that. Our defense attorneys work only for you, the defendant, and only care about what is in your best interest in court.
Free Consultation on NC Hit and Run Laws No one wants to be thought of as a criminal. But, when you are facing serious charges in North Carolina, you may feel that way. It probably feels like everyone is out to get you and no one understands your side of things. We can help you get through this trying time. We can effectively represent your interests and ensure your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal court process.
We are interested in helping you and want to hear about your case. Please call for a consultation on your hit and run charges today. There is no charge or obligation for our initial legal consultation. Let us give you the help you need.See Also: Best First Base Glove
An equipment is among the biggest investments you can at any time make. Appliances are constantly significant purchases, and so are one particular from the most significant aspects of your private home. You rely on appliances for anything from cooking to cleaning, and especially thinking about the amount of revenue you may be placing forth for it, it only makes sense that you would choose to ensure you make the most reasonable purchase.
Property appliances is really a time period that is used very commonly currently but exactly what does it stand for? Dwelling appliances stand to the mechanical and electrical goods that are utilised in your own home for your functioning of a typical residence.
Any auto accident, even a minor one can be very traumatic. But if you were involved in an accident that may have been your fault, and you didn’t stop to talk to the other party, you could face criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run). Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (800) 927-0644 After an accident, adrenaline is high and you may not make the best decisions.
Perhaps you were frightened after the accident and didn’t know what to do. But if you were arrested, cited on the spot, or received a criminal citation in the mail, I know you are scared to be facing criminal charges. You must appear in court, and defend your actions, and possibly face serious criminal penalties under Colorado hit and run laws. The right lawyer can be critical in helping you through this difficult legal situation.
We have experience in cases like yourse. We know how to represent people accused of hit and run – we have done it successfully many times before. All hit and run charges are different, and the exact circumstances about what happened, and how you acted are crucial. We want to know what happened in your case and how the accident occurred. The more we know about what happened to you, the better we can protect you under our system of justice.
Don’t go into court without someone on your side. Contact us for a free consultation for advice on cases like yours, and find out what we can do to help you. What is “Duty to Stop” ? After an accident you are required to stop your vehicle as soon as possible and remain at the scene until certain things are complete. You must exchange information with the other driver, or in more serious accidents, you must remain on the scene until law enforcement responds.
If someone is injured in the accident, you are required to provide reasonable assistance. This means you should help make sure an ambulance is called or do your best to accommodate the injured party until help arrives. If you fail to stop and complete your legally required duties you may be facing criminal charges. The charge you face depends on the result of the accident. Accidents involving injuries are obviously seen as more serious than accidents with only property damage.
Colorado Hit and Run Criminal Penalties If the accident only involves property damage:It is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines. If the accident causes injury to someone:It is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 18 months in jail and $5,000 in fines. If the accident causes serious bodily injury to someone: It is a Class 5 felony punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison and fines reaching $500,000.
If the accident results in a death: It is a Class 3 felony punishable by 4 to 12 years in prison and fines reaching $750,000. Ref: CRS 42-4-16 Colorado Hit and Run Charge? Get Legal Advice on Your Criminal Case Hit and Run is a serious offense. As if an auto accident isn’t stressful enough, criminal charges make it much worse. We know the kind of stress you are under. Your case needs an aggressive attorney on it, to protect your interests, and make sure your side of the story is heard.
We pledge to work diligently to get you the best possible results in court. Whatever happened, you deserve fair treatment under the law. Call our experienced defense lawyers to discuss your hit and run charge today. Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (800) 927-0644